Welcome to The Kolb Review; a daily blog covering all the pop-culture you could handle.

Expect some guest posts from our pop-culture liaison Leora Horowitz and sports and movie man Moshe Kolb.
Feel free to email any questions or comments to Jordankolb@gmail.com
Follow us on Twitter at @thekolbreview

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Movie Trivia #5

1) This Actor ended up being a terrorist.
2) This Director's favorite state is Arizona.
3) This Film can't be seen on Shabbas.

Movie Trivia #4 Answered!

Congrats to my long lost blood brother Adam Gelnick!
1) Tom Hanks played the piano in Big
2) John Lasseter also directed the film Cars
3) Toy Story was part of a trilogy.

Additional Clue!

This film was very successful and was money in the piggy bank

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Movie Trivia #4

1) This actor also plays the piano.
2) This director has a thing for cars.
3) This film was part of a trilogy.

What film is this?

Movie Trivia #3 Answer Revealed!!

Congrats to Mosh Kook on solving the puzzle. Highlight the area below for answers.
1) Tim Roth fought off the Hulk
2) Quentin Tarantino directed Inglorious Basterds
3) The characters in the film are named Mr. White, Mr. Pink etc.
Reservoir Dogs!!!

Monday, June 25, 2012

Why I Am Begging for a Great Film Performance.

As we continue to move forward through the summer movie schedule,  I continue to look for that one special performance. There are just some performances in film that make you love the movies and truly appreciate great acting. I began thinking of the best performances since 2000.
Here are some things to consider for the list:
·         Impersonations don’t count. If you have to play someone who already existed, I can’t say your performance was truly original. (sorry Jamie Foxx and Jaoquin Pheonix)
·         Academy Awards are not the only factors to consider.
·         These performances should be talked about for years to come.

10. Borat (Sacha Baron Cohen)
"When you chase a dream, especially one with plastic chests, you sometimes do not see what is right in front of you."
To kick off our list, we start with one of the most daring performances ever. SBC not only put on a genius comedic performance, SBC literally put himself into life threatening situations just to nail down this role. Extremely controversial, Borat is one of the most recognizable performances of the last 12 years.

9. Sara Goldfarb (Ellen Burstyn)
"I got no one to care for. What have I got, Harry? I'm lonely. I'm old."
This has to be one of the most unnerving and disturbing films ever made. Watching the group of drug addicts as their lives spiral out of control is eye opening. The film is highlighted by Ellen Burstyn’s performance. She opens the door into a terrified and deeply disturbed woman. With nothing left in her life, Sara Goldfarb’s life completely gets turned upside and we have front row seats.

8. Patrick Bateman (Christian Bale)
“Harold, it's Bateman, Patrick Bateman. You're my lawyer so I think you should know: I've killed a lot of people”
 Who would have thought that the childhood star actor of the Newsies would give a shockingly horrific performance as a serial killer. Christian Bale was chillingly sinister as the American Businessman who twilights as a sexual deviant and serial killer. Bale beat out DiCaprio for the role and boy we are happy he did because Bateman nailed it. It is actually kind of funny because landing this role is probably what earned Bale his role as Bruce Wayne in Batman Begins, a role that was rumored to be going to Joshua Jackson. THANK GOD!!!!!!

7. Randy “the Ram” Robinson (Mickey Rourke)
"And now, I'm an old broken down piece of meat... and I'm alone. And I deserve to be all alone. I just don't want you to hate me."
What Rourke does in The Wrestler is mesmerizing.  His performance was physically demanding, vulnerable, and really very lovable. Rourke did everything you could ask for in a tremendous performance. Watching, you share every emotion, ache, and feeling with the Ram. Enjoy this stunning perofmrance.

6. Aileen Wuornos (Charlize Theron)
“All you need is love and to believe in yourself. Nice idea. It doesn't exactly work out that way. But I guess it was better to hear a flat-out lie than to know the truth.” 
After dirtying herself up, Charlize Theron won an Oscar (I know it doesn’t matter) for her portrayal of Aileen Wuornos. Theron did an amazing job of bringing the real life case to life. While many won’t be talking about this film in the future, the performance surely will be remembered.

5. Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell)
“I’m in a glass case of emotion.”
Hands down one of the most memorable comedic performances of the decade came from Will Ferrell in Anchorman.  His Burgundy was a character that everybody was quoting within days and is still quoted 10 years later.  Ferrell hit every note right as Burgundy.  Ron Burgundy will be remembered two decades from now the same way we remember Clark Grizwald and Ferris Bueller today.  Ferrell has had some very funny performances this decade (Frank the Tank is almost as defining as Burgundy), but his performance, plus the fact that he helped create the character on paper, put Anchorman above anything else the comedian has done.

4. Chuck Noland (Tom Hanks)
"Tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?"
Tom Hanks is arguably the greatest American actor ever. With two best actor Oscars under his belt, many think he should have won a third for this film. Hanks is remarkable as the lovable Chuck Noland, who gets stranded on a deserted island. With nothing to watch but Hanks and a volley ball, I could not take my eyes off of Hanks. To captivate an audiences for almost 3 hours with nothing but waves and your acting skills, Hanks deserves this spot on the list.

3. Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp)
When you marooned me on that god forsaken spit of land, you forgot one very important thing, mate: I’m Captain Jack Sparrow.
Depps’s Jack Sparrow, sorry Captain Jack Sparrow, is one of the greatest characters ever. Depp took many liberties with the script, some which scared Disney quote a lot, and ran with the role. His twist on the charcters, funny way of saying things, and strange looks all added to the brilliant character we have seen on film. Without a doubt the best acting job of his career, Depp gave us one for the ages and one of the most fun characters in history.

2. Bill the Butcher / Daniel Plainview (Daniel Day Lewis)
“Tonight is a night for Americans” "I'm finished!"
DDL’s two notable performances from this decade are back-to-back probably the most interesting performances of the decade.  The two characters from Gangs of New York and There Will Be Blood, respectively, have a couple things in common.  They both are disconnected from other humans, they both are sinister and cool, and both men sport wicked mustaches.  Hands down, no one rocks a mustache better than Daniel Day Lewis and that would be enough to get him on this list alone (not really, but it does help). Why are both of these performances on the list? Because you could not possibly watch these films and not talk about the performances. If you have not seen them, trust me, go home and watch them.

1. The Joker (Heath Ledger)
"This city deserves a better class of criminal."
Forget bets performance of the decade, this may just be one of the greatest performances of all-time. Ledger deeply emerged himself in the role and truly became the Joker. Though his death after shooting has added to the mystic around the role, it should not take away from the brilliant performance. Heath Ledger gave the Joker character, depth and a criminally insane mind.   Heath is everything you could ever want from a good villain. Ledger’s performance essentially wiped out Javier Bardem’s peformance from the year before in No Country for Old Men from this Top Ten list.  Let’s just relish that one man did something that exceeded every expectation we all could’ve had and he’ll be remembered for generations because of it.

Movie Trivia #3!!!

Here we go, number 3!!!
1) This actor fought off the Hulk.
2) This director wants his scalps.
3) This film loves the colors of the rainbow.

What is the film?

Friday, June 22, 2012

Trivia #2 Solution!

Congrats to Daniel Baran who solved today's trivia in 4 minutes.
See below for answers. (just highlight the text)

1) Brad Pitt (Moneyball)
2)David Fincher (Social Network)
3)Fight Club

Movie Trivia #2!!!!

Due to the success of the first question, I will hopefully post a question every few days.
Here is the second trivia question. Be the first to answer it correctly and get a shout out on the blog!

Movie #2
1) The Actor has a thing for Athletics
2) The Director wishes he had 500 million friends.
3) The Film will make you think about soap.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Taken 2 Trailer!!!!!!!!!



Congrats to Jay Schwartz for being the first to answer correctly.
See below for answers. Just highlight the text to see solutions:

1) Danny Boyle
2) Cillian Murphy (Inception)
3) 28 Days Later

Movie Trivia #1

Hi all, a very good friend of mine (Daniel T.) presented me with a movie trivia question this morning. He gave me three clues and asked me what movie he was watching. I shall give the clues to you to see if you can solve the puzzle. Feel free to post your guesses or email me at jordankolb@gmail.com!!!!
1) The guy who directed it shined a light on India
2) The main actor may or may not have come up with his own idea in a different film
3) The film takes place in the United Kingdom

What film are we talking about?????

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Why "The Dark Knight Rises" is Going to be in Rare Company. (Part I)

By Moshe Kolb
Yes, this post is the 1st of I’m sure many, many more to follow about “The Dark Knight Rises”. Though my brother has been bragging about having tickets to the midnight premiere for a few months --- I at least am going to get to see “TDKR” as it was meant to be; as a complete trilogy, Back to Back to Back on opening night.  Everything to follow is a list of some of the best trilogies ever made. Yet, no matter how exciting, innovative, and addictive some originals and their sequels seem to be most trilogies can’t seem to remain great throughout all 3 movies.  This is the task facing Christopher “the great” Nolan ---- to make an all time unquestioned complete fantastic III Part Trilogy.  The key of course is to have them be a continuous thought out intelligent story where each movie plays a role and continues to build on its predecessor.  The failed ones are described by the Sports Guy, "A series of three dramas in which the first movie did so well, they couldn't help themselves, so they brought everyone back to make more money in an uninspired sequel, only that one did pretty well, too, so they brought everyone back again for a third movie, just to beat the dead horse completely into the ground." (Though admittedly that isn’t necessarily applicable to some of the greats on this list.)
The following movies however great have some flaw among the trilogy:
The Incomplete Trilogies

1)     The Mighty Ducks Trilogy [The Mighty Ducks, D2, D3]--- Ok, I admit this may be on the list purely for sentimental reasons. But as the inspiration of loving hockey for an entire generation with a perfect mix of childishness and competitiveness the mighty ducks had it going. The films take you through the growth of a team and childhood that mirrored our own experiences. In truth, this trilogy is different than all others in that it’s not easy to pick the weakest link. Most end up choosing D3, generally regarding it as repeat of snob team vs. ragtag team plot. But anything that can lead to the growth of a professional sports team needs to be recognized despite what ever flaws it may have. Quack!!!

2)     The X-Men Trilogy [X-men, X2, X3] ---- Marvel's flagship superhero team set the tone for all future superhero movies. Led by Bryan Singer and a perfectly cast team , the direction more than provided a moving semi-realistic view of life with mutants despite the lack of great action. Enter X2, which delivered both human drama and mutant mayhem showing what superhero movies could be. But then Singer went AWOL, and the studio fell into the trap deciding to introduce a couple of dozen new characters and it all went a bit wrong in the third film.  This trilogy is what Bill Simonds based his comments on.

3)     The Back to the Future Trilogy [Part I, II, III] --- Who doesn’t have fond memories of the Back to the Future trilogy. The minute it said "To Be Continued" at the end of the first film I was chomping at the bit to see what happened in the second. From driving down the freeway at 88 miles per hour, to wishing you had a hover board, coupled with a twisty, turny paradox-spinning puzzler in Part II. Consistently fun, funny and about as good an adventure as you could wish for, there's a reason that this is still wildly popular. However, the 3rd left something else to be desired. Clearly an add-on without any real purpose continuing the first two.

4)     The Matrix Trilogy [Matrix, Matrix Reloaded, Matrix Revolutions] --- The first Matrix film was one of those films, like Star Wars, that seems to change cinema overnight. As Keanu Reeves set out to save humanity from the machines, it spawned a million imitators, a thousand parodies and almost no equals. The sequels continue the story line and add to the depth of storytelling however it seems as if the writers/ producers themselves couldn’t understand the deep philosophical themes they were trying to portray. Though the ambition is admirable and fight scenes made everyone go “Whoa!!!!” sometimes a little less unintelligible philosophical banter is actually more.

5)     The Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy [Curse of the Black Pearl, Dead Man’s Chest, At World’s End] --- Some say trilogies can only be great if based on deep story plots that continue and flow from one movie to another. Heck Matrix is taught in philosophy classes across the world because of that.  Yet, Pirates owes it all to two men. The person who thought up the side character of Captain Jack Sparrow and of course the one and only Johnny Depp. No other character has carried an entire franchise quite like Captain Jack.  It seems as if this trilogy has all the makings: a 1st rate lead character with deep personality keeping the audience wanting to learn more about him and his past, side love characters, enemies that we still like and root for. The failure in this trilogy simply came down to execution and poor story at the end. The twists and turns causes the movie to meander far too often on its way to the conclusion, every character simply betrays every other without any seemingly intelligible purpose.

6)     The Austin Powers Trilogy [International Man of Mystery, The Spy Who Shagged Me, Goldmember] --- Few performances make you glee with laughter when looked at with fresh eyes as Mike Myer’s genius dual performance as Austin Danger Powers and Dr. Evil. As the series wore on, however, it became crystal clear that it was Dr. Evil who was the real star of the show, stealing most of the films. For many, this was an introduction into raunchiness and wishing we lived in the swinging ‘60s. The combination of the admittedly ace and star-studded opening number (with Spielberg, Cruise, Paltrow and Spacey) and Michael Caine almost saved the day for Goldmember, but the trashiness of the film finally outmatched the cleverness keeping it out of the best.
7)     The Terminator Trilogy [Terminator, Judgment Day, Rise of the Machines] --- The first Terminator film changed cinema bringing us Arnold and James Cameron. Few trilogies would even dare to do something as bold as switching its star evil mankind killer into its savior. Yet T2 is inarguably one of the slickest, most effective action thrillers the world has ever seen.  Though the belated 3rd installment may not quite stand on the same level, it's perfectly respectable staying true to its origins and still bringing us the inevitable Doom’s Day. It falls short however by further messing with the timeline, and it really misses Linda Hamilton's steely Ripleyesque presence.

8)     The Scream Trilogy [I, II, III] --- The slasher film was pretty much dead and buried in 1996. But Wes Craven managed to single-handedly bring it back to life with this witty rebirth of the whole genre. Killing the one known star in the opening scene wasn’t even the most original element about the movie. Here, our unstoppable killer (who always comes back for one last scare just when you think he is dead) faces victims who know how to survive a horror movie, who don't always run upstairs and who frequently fight back. The first sequel riffed on the clichés of Part I, while the less successful but still original third installment got really weird, depicting a sequel movie within the movie. This didn’t prove nearly as effective ruining the entire series slightly, but enough to keep it out of the elites.

9)      The Godfather Trilogy [Part I, II, III] --- Very tough not counting this in the “Greats List” but the best trilogies are those with no miss-steps. Of course when it comes to quotes, acting, directing and story the first two films are far superior and the reason this trilogy is rated this high. The themes about family, immigration and the American dream are depicted on a profound level, which is something most people could relate to. Part II expertly layered past and present in a brilliant expansion and clarification of the world, while Part III, whatever its faults, completes the arc for Michael Corleone (Al Pacino) as he faces the consequences of the choices he's made and watches the next generation grow up. All three films distinguish themselves from the other and continue a story thoughtfully and purposefully. Heck even the weak link delivered: "Just when I thought I was out they pull me back in.” However, had all three films been like Part Three I really don't think we ever would have heard of Don Corleone and for that it just doesn’t quite make it to the next level.

10) The Spiderman Trilogy [I, II, III] --- Blade and X-Men had shown where superhero movies were heading, but it was Spider-Man that actually went there. Its huge box-office success was thoroughly earned by director Sam Raimi placing Peter Parker's character front and center. I loved it because it didn’t have a big muscle man --- but rather nerdy Tobey McGuire. The sequel, pitting Spidey against Alfred Molina's brilliant Doc Ock, was a further step up. The weak leak, again number 3, fell into the same pitfalls where a tussle over bad guys between director and studio led to a film overloaded with evildoers and short on focus.  I will also say, in comparison to the likes of TDK or Star Wars, this trilogy seems to lack a growth in Spiderman between the three films and is more just different battles. Having said that, I am not a believer that this series needs a reboot, but if somehow they can make Spiderman the new Dark Knight --- delivering a thought out consistent planned story by delving deep into the psyche of a superhero then I’m all for it. [Forget it ---- that last sentence was pure blasphemy as nothing will ever come close to Nolan’s Dark Knight!!!]

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Why I Am Excited For The 2012 Summer Olympics.

This summer, the Summer Olympics move to London. There is a long debate of which Olympics are better. I won’t get into that now but I do want to focus on the awesomeness of the summer Olympics.  There are so many amazing events in the these Olympics. From swimming to gymnastics to track and field to soccer; the summer Olympics has a little bit for everyone. I am a little tacky and mushy when it comes to stuff like this but I become so patriotic when the Olympics come around. I become the biggest USA fan ever and just die for those amazing breath taking moments. My dear friend Daniel Baran pointed out how many exciting events and story lines there were this summer. Here are some of my personal favorite USA Summer Olympic moments ever.

Mark Spitz Sets the Record
The 1972 Munich games were witness to one of the most amazing feats ever. American swimmer Mark Spitz became the greatest Olympian at the time by winning a shocking 7 gold medals in the field of swimming. Check out some of the video below.
Jesse Owens Shocks the Germans
In 1936, any American would have loved to stick it to Hitler Y”S and the Germans. Track and Field star Jesse Owens did just that as he won 4 gold medals in the Berlin games.
*Disclaimer footage may not be appropriate for all people*
Mary Lou Retton Nails It
In 1984, MLR became the first American to win the gold in the women’s all-around competition and became the symbol for the success of the program. Her gold at the 1984 Los Angeles games is one of the most iconic moments ever.
Greg Louganis Heads Towards Gold
One of the most iconic sports images ever occurred at the 1988 games. Diving champion Greg Louganis amazingly doesn’t suffer any major injuries after hitting his head on the diving board early in the Seoul games. Louganis went on to capture the gold in the springboard and thus closed one of the most amazing sequence of events in summer Olympic in history.
The Dream Team
The 1992 Barcelona games are known for a few things, perhaps none greater than the USA Men’s Basketball Dream team. With the likes of Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson and Larry Bird, the greatest team ever seen simply destroyed the rest of the world’s talents in ways never before seen and never to be duplicated.
Check out some of the top plays.
Kerri Strug Struggles For Gold
Arguably the most heroic moment in Olympic history, gymnast Kerri Strug pulled off the impossible. Strug won the gold medal for the US team on a sprained ankle. You see the pain as she wins the medal. What an iconic moment. Watch this clip and tell me you don’t get chills.
The Fastest Man in the World
In 1996, the fastest man in the world wasn’t Usain Bolt, it was US sprinter Michael Johnson. The other “MJ” broke world records, grabbing his second gold of the Atlanta games with a record time of 19.32 in the 200m.
Gardner Goes to Work
In the 2000 Sydney Olympics, American Greco-Roman wrestler Rulon Gardner defeats "The General" at the Sydney Olympics, what some call the biggest upset in wrestling history.
Spitz Who?!?!
In 2008, Beijing was witness to one of the most amazing athletic performances ever. Michael Phelps topped Mark Spitz’s record with 8 gold medals in one games and 14 overall make him the greatest Olympian ever. Who can forget that exciting relay I which the Americans beat the Australians with an amazing last lap comeback.  

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Why I Think Franklin and Bash and Suits Are In An Elite Group.

Movies and TV shows have long taken advantage of the drama that inherently consumes the court room. With drama already inserted into many diverse cases, it only makes sense that there would be some great TV Lawyer/Courtroom shows over the years. In my opinion, a Lawyer show needs two things to be greatly successful. The first being awesome courtroom work. Whether it be drama or watching a genius lawyer figure out a last minute argument, no Laywer show can be considered great without some great moments of the stars in their element. The second is a great, interesting, and relatable staff. You see, if I cant relate to the lawyers on a personal level, I at least want to be amazing at their genius. Two of my favorite Lawyer shows of all time are currently on TV this summer. Franklin and Bash as well as Suits are two awesome shows with a pair of lawyers you will come to love. F&B is a little more on the playful side but each show will have you begging for more of these characters. Casting props should go out to both of these shows. Here are some of the best lawyer shows of all time.

L.A. LAW (1986-1994)
This was the first lawyer show I had ever heard of when I was little. The show depicted a law firm in LA made up smart, drive and of course sexy lawyers. Many say this show was the ground breaker which many of today’s shows are based on.

LAW & ORDER (1990- )
The record breaking show has spawned off some of the most consistent and successful shows ever. Producer Dick Wolf is said to have conceived the show’s format—first half, investigation and arrest; second, trial and verdict—after watching tapes of a British show while working as a writer on the 1980s hit Miami Vice. The show is legendary for its twisted takes on real-life legal issues,  and has won over millions of fans across the county.

 THE PRACTICE (1997-2004)
This was the first lawyer show I can remember people falling in love with. Bobby Donnell was a handsome, driven defense attorney who surrounded himself at the self-named firm of Robert Donnell & Associates with talented lawyers who lacked the pedigree necessary to cut it in BigLaw. They made up the difference with street smarts and sheer tenacity.  Fans fell in love with both courtroom and law office drama.

ALLY McBEAL (1997-2002)
This show was quite successful but not for its court room prowess. Ally McBeal was more like Felicity if Felicity worked in a law office. Regardless, the show was a hit while it aired and always had a big following.

BOSTON LEGAL (2004-2008)
James Spader played Alan Shore, a politically incorrect jerk (deep down he has a good heart) who lands a job with his friend and mentor Denny Crane (William Shatner), a cranky conservative who seems to have lost any semblance of a social filter. The show was a break-off of The Practice but definitely had its own feel to it. The shows quick and witty bantor is some of the best ever seen on TV. This show completely revitalized William Shatner’s career.

 DAMAGES (2007- )
A personal favorite of mine, Damages is now in its 5th season. The show follows NY’s most ruthless and feared lawyer, Patty Hewes  (Award Winning Glenn Close) as she takes down the biggest corporations. Ellen Parsons is a brilliant law school grad who goes to work for and gets a little too close to Patty. The show takes real life cases and turns them into entire seasons of beautifully crafted drama. First few seasons are among the best ever on TV.

F&B starts its second season this summer. The show follows the conquests of two best friends as they make the move from private to corporate lawyers while maintain the unorthodox methods that got them to where they were. The show stars Breckin Meyer and Mark-Paul Gosselaar (Zack Morris). They are quite funny characters and with their crack team find amazing ways to win cases.

SUITS (2011- )
This awesome lawyer drama follows big hotshot Harvey Spector and his sidekick Mike Ross. The nitch of the show is that Ross, who is one of those cure cancer brilliant minds, is not actually a lawyer but this secret is kept between Harvey and Mike. The show has its humor but amazingly nails a dramatic note as well. A very good supporting cast helps the duo as well. 

Friday, June 8, 2012

Why Tiger Woods May be the Greatest Athlete in My Lifetime. (Part II)

3rd Runner Up- Tom Brady
The 3 time Super Bowl champ has been to 5 Super Bowls in only 10 years. That means he has made the Super Bowl in half the seasons he has played. That is an insane percentage. One of the clutchest QBs of all time, Brady also holds the record for single season TD totals and has a shocking career record.
Why Not:
With his last two Super Bowls ending with a loss to the Giants, his mysticism has definitely dropped. He does play for a team sport and has drawn too many comparisons with Manning and Farve to be considered the greatest athlete of my lifetime.

2nd Runner Up- Michael Phelps
With 14 Gold Medals, an almost perfect Olympic record, Phelps has dominant a mostly individual event. The greatest Olympian is quite a title but one that Phelps has earned. Watching the man-fish in the pool is thrilling and like Tiger, you almost expect and demand he win.
Why Not:
In my opinion Phelps doesn’t compete enough to be considered the best athlete in my generation. His Olympic races are really numbered and a few of them are out of his hands.

1st Runner Up: Michael Jordan
MJ dominated his sport and then transcended it. With 6 titles, 5 MVP, 6 finals MVPs, a numerous scoring champ and all defensive player, MJ has the stats to be the best. But his drive, feel for the dramatic moments, and desire to win make him the greatest NBA player ever. He also brought basketball to heights it could never imagine. Michael Jordan is probably the most popular and well known Athlete of all time.
Why Not:
Though amazing, it did take MJ a few years to achieve his greatness. While the centerpiece, he did have plenty of help with some amazing teams along the way. Also holding against him, Jordan dominated for 7 years, a relatively short time for someone considered the best athlete of my 25 years.

The Greatest Athlete of My Lifetime: Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods is the greatest athlete of my generation. First the stats; Tiger has 11 majors, the second most all time. Most players dream of winning one. He has 72 wins, tied with Jack Nicholas for all time. He has been the #1 player in the world for years at a time. Tiger Woods is without a doubt the best golfer of all time. With the level of competition he has faced and the target on his back, the fact that he just keeps on winning and winning is amazing. He has brought golf, a very white collar, “not for the masses” sport to the forefront of the nation. But what is perhaps most amazing is the expectation and demand for excellent every time he is on the course.  Tiger is expected to win every single tournament he plays and quite often he comes through. The fact that in his worst years he gets 2-3 victories is stunning. Most golfers hope to win 2-3 tournaments in their lives. In the 18 years he has been a professional, Tiger has dominated the sport. Winning a major in his second year, after becoming the highest endorsed golfer and SI Athlete of the Year as a Rookie, Tiger never slowed down. I play golf and the insane pressure on every shot in a sport where it is all on you to be great just seems daunting. Watching that unbelievable chip in on the 16th hole of Memorial was just a reminder how I have the pleasure and honor to watch the greatest athlete of the last 25 years on a daily basis. Tiger; thank you!!

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Why Tiger Woods May be the Greatest Athlete in My Lifetime. (Part I)

In the 25.5 years I have been alive, there have been some amazing athletes. In an analysis of the best athletes of my lifetime, I came across some amazing athletes.
Honorable Mention:

Roger Federer
Pro- With the all-record of grand slams, consecutive wins, consecutive weeks as #1 and all-time grand slam matches won, Federer has quite the resume.
Con- He was unable to defeat and was perhaps surpassed by both Nadal and Djokovich. Though considered the best ever by some, RF is sometimes not even considered the best player of his generation.

Patrick Roy
Pro- Roy is the best goalie of my lifetime, Roy ended his career with the 3 cups and he just dominated the NHL setting basically every goalie record that counted.
Con- Martin Broeduer.

Lionel Messi
Pro- I have never seen someone more dynamic or magical on the pitch. Breaking records daily, the Barcelona star produces magic every game.
Con- Messi has not won a world cup or Olympic gold for the always favored Argentina. His lifespan as the best player in the world, like most soccer players, will be short.

Michael Jordan
Michael Phelps
Tiger Woods
Tom Brady
Part two to arrive soon.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Why I Love An Awesome Marriage Proposal.

I would like to officially announce my engagement to the beautiful and amazing Zahava Goldofsky. After repeating the story of how I proposed 100 times, it had me thinking, what are the best documented marriage proposals of all time. Enjoy!!!!
·         Movie Theater Surprise
In this amazing and all-time great proposal, a unassuming bride to be is at the movies and watching a trailer, a trailer about her boyfriend proposing to her.
·         Old Spice Man
If you would want your girl to cheat on you with anyone, it would have to be the awesomely manly Old Spice Commercial Man. So why not have him propose for you!
·         Muppet Proposal
Every girl at some point had a doll or stuffed animal. Tapping into that with an all Muppet proposal? Genius.
·         Movie Trailer #2 (or for those who know me #3)
What if you saw a beautifully done movie trailer but realized all the actors were actually your family members? Take a look.
·         Lip Dub Special
In one of the most amazing and beautifully choreographed dance proposal ever, this guy had his girl listen to a song with headphones as every person she had ever met performed a lip dub routine.     
·         Fiancé Dies
In the most amazing wedding proposal I have ever seen, you witness a girl hearing will you marry me right before her fiancé dies (or does he). CHECK THIS OUT!!!!
·         Josh Turner Special
A friend of mine proposed to his wife surprising her outside her apartment while singing her favorite song. This is a personal favorite.
·         A Disney Musical
In this awesome proposal, a singing groom surprises his girl with a musical number among a crowd of strangers at Disney World.

Friday, June 1, 2012

Why I Love A Good Movie Trailer (Part II).

Here is part two of this amazing segment. I apologizing for including #15 last time so here are the top #14 movie trailers.

14. Paranormal Activity 2 2010
Some of the scariest scenes ever come from these films. The trailers captured it all.

13. District 9 2009
Awesome movie, awesome trailer.

12. Casino Royale 2006
In his first stint as Bond, Daniel Craig, gave every a sigh of relief as he kicked butt in this trailer, reassuring everyone that the franchise was going to be just fine.

11. The Departed 2006
Answer me this, how good can a movie starring Leonardo Dicaprio, Matt Damon, Mark Wahlberg, Alec Baldwin, and Jack Nicholson really be?  According to the trailer…pretty DAMN good!

10. Transformers 2007  
This childhood love of mine came to life in 2007. The trailers not only had me excited but they had me pumped up like crazy. Michael Bay is the king of Awesomeness and this trailer fell in line.

9. Matrix Reloaded 2003
The second installment of the Matrix franchise was an underrated film and I felt the trailer was quite awesome. Considering the hype this movie had after The Matrix became such a cult hit, the trailer surely didn’t disappoint.

8. Terminator Salvation 2009
Though this movie fell short in theaters, the long awaited return of the Terminator franchise was hyped up to wazoo. Of course it didn’t hurt having Christian Bale star as the human savior John Conner. Bad movie, very good trailer.

7. Sin City
This piece of art got pretty good reviews overall. Based on the famous graphic novel, Sin City was the first of a slew of films all of graphic novels. There is no doubt the trailer had us all dying for more.

6. X-men First Class 2011
I loved this film. I thought it was done beautifully and did an amazing job of tying in all of the history related to the X-Men. The first trailer for the film was beautiful as it introduced us to the characters who who make up the beloved X-Men.

5. 300 2006
With Nine Inch Nails in the background, the most epic movie of all time was amazing epic. Cmon, a little battled kid about to fight a beast. Thank you!

4. Battle: Los Angeles 2011
While the film fell a little flat, this trailer is awesome. The music is riveting and there are some very iconic images.

3. The Dark Knight 2010
The greatest villain ever, deserves the one of the best trailers, and he got it. Nolan is a master at marketing campaigns and his trailer was awesome, featuring the amazing Joker.

2. Inception 2009
From the music to the screen shots, Christopher Nolan nailed it  with this trailer of his international phenomenon. You cannot watch this and feel a need to see the film.

1.       Alien 1979
In my opinion there is no greater trailer ever than the horrifying Ridley Scott film. Just remember, “In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream.”